rebuild 1968 Starcraft Mariner v 16'

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike96

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first time working on a tin boat. I have been reading the forums for some ideas and figured I should post my rebuild so I joined. When I started my project I wasn't planning on posting so I don't have many photos from the beginning.
boat.jpg
Last year I bought 1968 Mariner v with 1970s Evinrude 70hp. The hull had some leaks and the motor was a mess. Once I got the motor going and put some pop rivets to fix the leak as I didn't have solid rivets at the time I noticed how the hull would twist and the whole boat felt soft. There was also a crack in the knee brace and knew I would have to reinforce the transom. In the fall when the boat was on the trailer I noticed the transom was bent and it would need to be replaced. This is when I decided to redo the floor and reinforce everything.
knee brace.jpg
when I removed the floor there was all kinds of junk and some presents from the previous owners. I blasted out the ribs and opened all the drainage passages with a pressure washer. I also removed the transom to find it was also rotten
old transom.jpg
I wanted to be able to remove the floor if I needed it. I welded an aluminum frame using 1"x2" rectangular tubing to make a frame and then welded aluminum angle for the joists every 10", all the aluminum was 1/8" wall thickness. Once I had built the frame I put in place and welded L brackets on so they would sit on either side of each rib. This way I can drill out the rivets if I ever need to remove the frame and I don't have to put any holes through the hull.
frame.jpg