Wild hogs

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Marx

Reaction score
I'm not a professional , but will tell all what I have learned over the years. The most important is hogs are smart. Don't underestimate them for a second. They aren't blind to movement , can hear extremely well , and have a nose better then dogs . They remember everything they are taught by a sow. In order to successfully trap a sounder (litter) you have to take out the teachers (sows). Large boars only hang out with the ladies when they're in heat . Trapping in new areas you may do good on a large number , but don't get used to that. Once an older pig sees their siblings in a trap they never forget the danger . I had trapped all but 2 sows and a boar from a sounder last winter. For the last 5 months I've been watching(gen3 night vision ) the 2 remaining sows with 8 young. I never touched or baiting the traps and they walked by them nightly. If I was to bait either trap the sows would have chased to young away and taught them never to go near traps. Fast forward, the young pigs have now been eating on their own for a couple months , but still hanging with the sows and walking right past both traps. Four weeks ago I took out both sows (night vision 44 mag ) . Three weeks ago I started baiting the traps (doors wire open) and all the pigs would race to get the corn inside , packing in like sardines . On Friday night I set both traps and caught all 8 . I don't have a large pig problem so I shot all but 1 boar and 2 sows to start all over again. I can throw corn all over the traps and the three little piggies will scarf down everything out side the trap , but won't go in.