Anode on hull in salt water?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ggoldy

Reaction score
I'm rigging a new Tracker 1436 jon boat. As long as my back holds up, it will be 'rowed' on Florida's gulf coast intercoastal waterway, salt water. No motor, and it won't be left in the water. Would it be helpfull to put an anode on the hull? I'm a retired plumber, this is the last boat I want to buy, and I want it to last me 20-30 years.(I'm very frugal, and, well, cheap!) Thanks for your help.

Hi g. If the boat is going to be stored, or sit in saltwater for long periods of time you'll definitely want a sacrificial Zinc anode attached to the hull below the waterline. Make sure that any hardware on the boat is either aluminum and/or stainless steel, or it will rust away pretty quickly.

Here's a good read,easy to understand and not to long.
https://www.duroboat.com/experience/AluminumBoatsandCorrossion.htm

I keep aluminum boats in salt water year round, and because of that, I am a firm believer in anodes. I have seen enough electrolysis damage on boats without galvanic protection. If you have a battery in your boat, connect a bonding wire from the negative post, to your zinc anode. This will help direct any stray current into the anode, instead of your hull.

[url=https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=325918#p325918 said:
Zum » Today, 14:44[/url]"]Here's a good read,easy to understand and not to long.
https://www.duroboat.com/experience/AluminumBoatsandCorrossion.htm

Very good info for those who keep boats in saltwater.

However, there's one part I disagree with:

"Isolate the hull from electrical current. Make sure your battery is grounded to your motor. Don't ground electrical devices to the aluminum hull."