Motor Manufacturers - what is good?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nvf104

Reaction score
Hi all. I’m brand new to boating. Just bought my first boat - a 14.5’ MonArk v-hull for purposes of getting my kids out on the water. Boat did not come with an outboard, but is rated for 30 hp. So, I’ve started looking at outboards.

My initial question: is their a general hierarchy as to which manufacturers are good, better, great?

As far as I can tell, the manufacturers available to me in the US are:

Mercury
Yamaha
Suzuki
Honda
Evinrude

Am I missing someone?

Is Mercury the sole US manufacturer? Are all of their motors built in the US?

Thanks in advance!

Mitch

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm a johnnyrude fan for the older motors. As far as new ones, pick a dealer you like who has a good name in the area and go with what they sell. As far as north American manufacturers, Evinrude. All small Mercs are Tohatsu, which are good motors, just not made here. Like most things.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk

It all depends on your budget.. if your buying New they are all pretty good ( with Yamaha and Honda being slightly better) if your buying something old, stay away from Force / Chrysler.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk

Tohastu makes their own motor plus mercury 30 hp or less and evinrude motors 15hp or less i tihnk.. But i highly doubt you can go wrong with any of your listed engines. Yamaha run forever, Hard to find anything bad about a Suzuki, Honda has been building small engines forever. Mercury and Evinrude guys will be fighting forever, but both good engines.

Warranty, local service is very important,

I've got two Merc's from the Late 90's early 2000's that have been fantastic. They all can be good when maintained properly, or useless junk if they aren't.