Catfishing Gear???

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nathanielrthomas

Reaction score
So i got conned into going out to the Mississppi River for some fun in the sun, camping and Catfishing. I was wondering if you guys had any advice on what gear I need for these nasty fish... Im not looking to go buy a "HogSeeker" rod and reel with Bells, alarms, and LED lights, I just want to have the tools needed to do the job if I do happen hook a 20 pounder.

Ill be fishing from the sandy banks of the Mississippi River, in a pretty strong current in about 30-40' deep water. I have an old swimbait rod that is 8' Heavy action, rated up to 65# test that i would like to utilize, and an old shimano citica that is in good working order. I was kinda hoping I could get away with using this setup with about 30#test Stren mono, but I dont know. My plan is to set the rod up in a piece of pvc pipe modified as a rod holder in the sand(Kinda like surf fishing) and then sit there in a lawn chair, waiting :( . I guess I could go buy an abu 5600 or something similar, but i really dont see the need to when an old shimano will do the same thing.

Also, what kind of terminal tackle is needed? Hook style and size, weight style and size, and any rigging or bait guidance would be greatly appreciated. If Im gonna do it, Id like to at least be prepared to catch a big one. My catfishing experience thus far is limited to farm pods and hot dog weenies... And of course the occasional catfish on a spinnerbait. Thanks guys.