Trolling Motor Fuse!

Trolling motors, Fish Finders, GPS, Batteries, anything Electrical, post it here.
User avatar
Jim
Site Admin
Posts: 17924
Joined: 29 Nov 2006, 21:00
15
Location: Shrewsbury, MA

Trolling Motor Fuse!

Post by Jim »

How easy would it be to switch the inline fuse to a breaker? Should this be left to a professional or is it something I can do?

It's a 30 amp fuse.

dampeoples
Posts: 491
Joined: 04 Dec 2006, 23:10
14
Location: Youngsville, NC

Post by dampeoples »

What sort of connections does it have? Let me see a pic if it's convienent, I might have a screw-on connector that'll work, then cover with shrink-wrap. I'll go out in the shed and check, and put it in your box if I do.

User avatar
xmytruck
Posts: 176
Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 13:53
14

Fuse

Post by xmytruck »

You could use what I have it is a in-line shortstop it will resets it self. take a look at the link..

https://www.solarseller.com/dc_circuit_ ... _volts.htm

User avatar
Jim
Site Admin
Posts: 17924
Joined: 29 Nov 2006, 21:00
15
Location: Shrewsbury, MA

Post by Jim »

Thanks for the link! Is this something I could install myself? Do I need anything else?

User avatar
xmytruck
Posts: 176
Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 13:53
14

Yes U can

Post by xmytruck »

Yea it is easy to install just snip the wire before and after the fuse, strip the wire about a 1/2 inch and use a wire spade wire connector and crimp in on the wire. Place the hot side on on the red bold and the load side on the sliver bolt. Due note that you will need to strip the wire on the hot side and the load side and crimp to spade wire connectors. Besides the spade connectors you will need a wire stripper most of them have some form of a crimping tool.
Thanks
X

User avatar
Jim
Site Admin
Posts: 17924
Joined: 29 Nov 2006, 21:00
15
Location: Shrewsbury, MA

Post by Jim »

Im going to to try it! First winter project!

Thanks for the info!

User avatar
shamoo
Posts: 3462
Joined: 24 Oct 2007, 08:46
14
Location: Atco, NJ

Post by shamoo »

So Mr.Jim did you do the in-line fuse to a breaker project?

User avatar
Jim
Site Admin
Posts: 17924
Joined: 29 Nov 2006, 21:00
15
Location: Shrewsbury, MA

Post by Jim »

This winter LOL! If I keep the boat.







Im a procrastinator! :shock:

User avatar
Waterwings
Posts: 9266
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:41
14
Location: Northwest KY. Fairweather angler

Post by Waterwings »

Speaking of tm breakers, the 46# thrust MG on my Tracker has a 50amp breaker for it, but the new 40# thrust MK I added to the jon boat calls for a 60amp breaker. Just wondering why a lower thrust tm would call for a higher amp breaker? Both are 12V tm's.
Image1652VT RoughneckImageCarrot Stix LTX

User avatar
Captain Ahab
Posts: 10509
Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 00:13
14
Location: Bucks Co., PA

Post by Captain Ahab »

Size of the wires in the armature most likely (and power leads)
Trying to Fish as often as Jim works :LOL2:

User avatar
Waterwings
Posts: 9266
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:41
14
Location: Northwest KY. Fairweather angler

Post by Waterwings »

Ah, that makes sense :)
Image1652VT RoughneckImageCarrot Stix LTX