I would like to introduce myself

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B.L. Hall

Reaction score
My name is Bruce. I am a Soldier currently in Iraq. Here I have a lot of time to think, so I think I will restore my boat this winter.

This is my first boat. I bought it with very little knowledge of boats of boating (still have little knowledge)…. Anyway it is a riveted aluminum 17’ with console steering and a 60hp Evenrude.

She is old and beat up, the carpet is ragged and three different colors from patching, some of the floors have week spots and there is no storage… But, it doesn’t leak. The motor isn’t set up right (I don’t know how to fix that) but it is very slow… I have no way of knowing how fast it does go, but I have been in my brothers 14’ no deck jon with a 9.9 hp and it seemed faster.

Anyway, the motor and motor set up is for another topic of discussion later.

This is the plan I have… I would like you guys to tell me what I should change. I am a good wood worker and doing this work won’t be a problem for me. I have been told to not carpet it to save weight and all it is cosmetic that traps water against the decks… this makes sense to me. I can paint in nice and put some anti-skid stuff down on the floors. Is there anything else any of you could suggest?

I joined a bassboat form when I first bought the boat, but all the guys there seem to have $30K plus boats and I just can’t go out and spend the money they seem to think it takes to have a boat…

I found you guys by accident, but I am really glad I did!!!!

Thanks Bruce

the one on the right is the way it is now... only really ragged...

restore01.JPG

Bruce,

First and most importantly Thank you for doing what you do for us! Because of people like you we can sit here and talk fishing and boats. I mean that Sincerely form the bottom of my heart. THANK YOU!

Secondly,
Welcome to tinboats!