UHMW jet intake- Medium?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LowHoler

Reaction score
Anyone aware of a manufacturer that makes a UHMW intake in a medium? I have found 2 manufacturers that make the foot for the large pump only. I think these guys are missing the boat not making the acrylic intakes for the smaller pumps. Generally speaking guys run skinnier with the smaller motors, makes sense to me?

I was wondering the same thing for the day the jet foot and rock don't agree and I need a replacement.

jbnelson said:
I was wondering the same thing for the day the jet foot and rock don't agree and I need a replacement.

Having been involved in the UHMW Intake process I can tell you there is no missing-the-boat. Medium pumps are a very small market. Some gentle education may be in order, someone taught me, perhaps I can pay it forward.

I've been doing this jst stuff for 20+ years and kind of broker boats, assist fellow jetters and special need organizations (search Y& rescue, fire &townshop...) on the right fit jetting packages in both custom and mass production crafts. Have also been published across the country about a dozen times in various outdoor magazines on the subject and there are just some hard cold facts that we as jetters need to come to grips with. Outboard Jet's make up less tha 3% of the entire outboard market. Even in the most river dense areas, the highest % any state in the nation offers is 12-15% (My home state of PA being one by the way). So for every 100 outboards sold, only 3 get a jet pump on it. With those numbers you can't get a single manufacturer to listen to you and certainly not serious listening. Theyjust dn't focus on 3% of any market.