Crappie Lures - HELP!!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigTerp

TinBoats Supporter
Reaction score
Will be taking a fishing trip the end of March for mostly Largemouth and a little Crappie action. I'm good on my Largemouth lures and techniques, but have never targeted Crappie. So I'm not really sure what I should be getting for lures and techniques to use. Doing a little research it looks like small tubes, grubs and jigs are the way to go. What size am I looking for? We also may be able to get some live bait (small minnows) to use as well. Would you use these on a jighead?

Crappie minnows on a jig head has worked for me.
I've never tried anything but live bait for crappies before.

-CN- said:
Crappie minnows on a jig head has worked for me.

Hmm. I've never tried minnows on a jig head before. I just always throw them on a red aberdeen with a split shot on the line.

Crappie tubes/ringers on a jig head under a float is all I use. 1/8 oz. I guess. I do paint them and add eyes though.[emoji12]

Tons of crappie stuff out there. I like to jig small plastics like 1.5" finesse (Fin S) minnows and tube on anywhere from 1/32 oz jig heads up to 3/8 oz. The light jigs are needed as the often hit on the fall.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk