14' Sea Nymph Conversion

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kmercury

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to the thread and am looking for some ideas. I recently picked up this 14' Sea Nymph with a 7.5 Mercury and trailer. Originally, the rear bench was in its factory position (too close to the transom, hard to steer the boat) and the front seat was mounted to the front bench (the front passenger could not face front). I moved the rear bench forward 8" and up 3" and made a new bench for the front seat well behind the factory bench. I am not a duck hunter but I like the camo paint and it is in good condition so I will leave it. The motor is good (starts on the first pull) but it does need to be tuned (some hesitation in the mid RPM ranges).

The mods so far were to get us through the rest of the season as I plan to do a full modification this winter. I am a new fisherman and have begun to develop some wants in my fishing boat. Of course, I want to make this more functional and comfortable than pricy and flashy. These are my thoughts:

[*]Install a bottom deck from rear factory bench to front factory bench
[*]Install upper deck on top of factory front bench to front of boat thus creating a battery and storage compartment.
[*]Leave rear bench and seat alone, just carpet it.
[*]Create a mid-bench with cooler live well and extra storage
[*]Remove temporary bench with front seat and install a pedestal front seat mounted to lower deck.

Any thoughts around this would be appreciated. I intend to keep the lower deck quite low and use camo carpet. I want to install a trolling motor and somehow wrangle that anchor line. As I begin work I will post more pics but the work may not start unitl October or so (still some good fishing out there, hu).

Thanks

Kmercury

Attachments

• IMAGE_126.jpg
    IMAGE_126.jpg
    77 KB · Views: 4,262
  • IMAGE_129.jpg
    IMAGE_129.jpg