1992 Lund Tyee 1850 restoration

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icene8108

Reaction score
In spite of all my fishing buddies telling me to sell this boat and buy something newer, I have started to disassemble my 1850 and plan to replace the plywood in the floor, rebuild the consoles and the engine cover (yes, it's an inboard). I must admit, at least to me, it seems to be more of a job than I thought it would be. I have been searching for sources for the plywood and have not decided to replace the carpet with carpet or a different covering. I seem to be having trouble finding any sources that offer any 3/4" in a higher grade than an A-B Marine and maybe I don't need anything of a higher grade. This is my first attempt at a rebuild and I would welcome any advice anyone might have to help me along with my project.

Those are nice boats. I would also lean towards renovation.

Is the existing floor 3/4? I think 1/2 is commonly used.

I also think AB marine ply would be a terrific choice. My opinion is the difference between it and AA grade are not important for your use. Unless you go with one of the exotic materials like coosa board it is a superior choice for your project. However, some question if it is needed. It is often pointed out on these forums that both marine and exterior grade ply use waterproof glue. The main difference is marine grade does not have voids. And of course, exterior grade is going to cost a lot less. Whatever you use, I would suggest sealing it well, including the edges.

I enjoy marine vinyl in my boat. So far I find it very easy to clean and durable. I think installation is best if the vinyl is wrapped around the ply edges and stapled from underneath. So, you would have to design your floor panels accordingly. BTW, that does have the added benefit of protecting the ply edges.