gas mixture

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

static

Reaction score
ok I read before I ask. Im new to the forum. I have a 1961 18hp evinrude, on this site it says gas mixture is 24:1 I was told 50:1. I was on the water trying it out, I have to hold the choke and pull the chord at the same time because the choke isn't working. it slides back in if you don't hold it. so anyways it started, I held it for about 15 sec- let it go it sputter for a little while then it shut down, after that I could not get it to start. I'm a xerox tech don't know anything about boat motors, the plan is to change the fuel filter, plugs & gas pump. any ideas?

static said:
ok I read before I ask. Im new to the forum. I have a 1961 18hp evinrude, on this site it says gas mixture is 24:1 I was told 50:1. I was on the water trying it out, I have to hold the choke and pull the chord at the same time because the choke isn't working. it slides back in if you don't hold it. so anyways it started, I held it for about 15 sec- let it go it sputter for a little while then it shut down, after that I could not get it to start. I'm a xerox tech don't know anything about boat motors, the plan is to change the fuel filter, plugs & gas pump. any ideas?
I had an 80’s 15 hp Evinrude that was a finicky starter. On that motor you choked it till it popped then, with choke off, give it about half throttle and it would start. If you tried to start it with not enough throttle it’d flood and be hard as heck to start.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah I would guess you flooded it.

Try and remember that it is easier to give it more choke and pull it a couple more times than it is to clear it out after being flooded.

24:1 theres bushings in the cranckcase that require more lubrication than bearings do....