Navionics worth it in Lowrance Elite 4?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bottombouncer

Reaction score
This would be another first for me. The last new unit I bought was a Garmin 160 when they were new on the market. So, it's been several years. Cabelas had a good sale on the Lowrance Elite 4 sonar/gps so I picked on up last fall. I have no experience with the mapping cards. With such a small screen, would the card benefit me? It seems to have all the lakes/reservoirs I would be fishing.

Thoughts on this?

Personally I think it would. But if you have a smartphone with the aprox same screensize, you could give that a try before buying the chip. The webapp woun't use your phones GPS, but it will give you an idea what to expect.

https://navionics.com/en/webapp

I doubt if the zoom feature on the Lowrance is as good as your smartphone, I've got the same FF/gps unit and an eyephone & navionics app, and I can get more structure/depth info from the eyephone setup than the Lowrance. The card may slow the processing speed down on the FF as well, I've read where the new Elite 7 series with cards boggs down something awful but no 1st hand experience with the 7.

[url=https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=344250#p344250 said:
TNtroller » Yesterday, 05:50[/url]"]I doubt if the zoom feature on the Lowrance is as good as your smartphone, I've got the same FF/gps unit and an eyephone & navionics app, and I can get more structure/depth info from the eyephone setup than the Lowrance. The card may slow the processing speed down on the FF as well, I've read where the new Elite 7 series with cards boggs down something awful but no 1st hand experience with the 7.