So... This iPilot thingababob...

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnglerC

Reaction score
I have heard nothing but good things about iPilot.

So I'm just getting started in learning what it's all about. Not what it can do but whats the setup...

What do I need.

I learned there is 2 types of iPilot.

1.) iPilot Link = which talks to my Humminbird and can follow contours and all sorts of other things. From what I can gather I have a choice of the Helix, Onix, Ion or the Legacy Units for my Fishfinder. Then I just choose what trolling motor I prefer. Thrust, Voltage, Shaft Length and Deploy Method.

Am I close?

2.) iPilot GPS Remote = Which has a hand held remote to control it manually. And will spot lock at the push of a button.

Correct?

I'd like to know what your set up is. What has worked? What hasn't worked? What would you do different if given the opportunity? What if money was no object? If you were in my shoes, wanting the most boom for my buck and not being able to ever replace it. What would you do?

Hey bud,

I have been an Ipilot fan for years.

First thing to mention. REMOTE STEER!!!! I striper troll a lot and absolutely LOVE this feature. You can set the motor on a course and speed, and set all 12 lines (downlines, planer boards, floats etc.) and not worry about the motor or the course it is on. You can also wind all your trolling rigs up and keep the motor going. Or, when you have a fish on, just concentrate on getting it to the boat rather than worrying about boat course.

The Ipilot can do GPS spot lock and keep the boat within a 5' radius. In a hard wind and heavy current, it won't do what you want, but it sure will try. Anything over 10mph winds is a no go in my experience.