What size battery should I get

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DEbowhunter1

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to boating and really don't know , I have a 55lb minn Kota trikling motor on a 1436 , I am going to be running the trolling motor alot since most the lakes I fish are electric only... What size battery would you recommend for me?

Size 27 should work for you. This would allow you to stay out all day pretty much and not have battery issues.
55 lbs is the largest draw you can have on a 12 volt motor.
You may be able to get by with less but you will never get stuck with too much reserve power.

At least a group 27 deep cycle or better yet a group 29 or bigger. It's always a good idea to have a backup, just in case.

Make sure you get a good battery charger designed to charge deep cycle batteries. At least a 10 amp or more charger that will automatically shutoff when done. Don't use a cheap trickle charger, that will just kill your battery in a short amount of time.

My local trout fishing hole is an electric only lake and my boat is rigged for it during trout season.
I have a MK 55lbs ipilot up front and MK 55lbs on the transom for a backup.
I run 2 group 29 Walmart batteries on a switch and can easily troll 8 to 10 hours on a windy day and up to 12 hours with no wind. I'll run down the first battery to about 60% and then switch it out for number 2. I always leave a little reserve in the first battery because there's nothing worse than being on the wrong side of the lake with a dead battery. Ask me how I found that out! :oops:

krawler said:
Make sure you get a good battery charger designed to charge deep cycle batteries. At least a 10 amp or more charger that will automatically shutoff when done. Don't use a cheap trickle charger, that will just kill your battery in a short amount of time.