1971 Evinrude 18 HP longshaft

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rat

Reaction score
Well, after waiting patiently and trolling craiglist for a couple of weeks I finally found my motor. I wanted a 15-20 HP long shaft tiller drive. They guy I bought it from said he had replaced the impeller and sparkplugs and it was running fine. Then it sat for over a year and he can't get it to start now, he bought a new motor and sold this one to me for $175. I figured I would need to rebuild the carb and fuel pump and maybe the ignition system. Since I have never worked on an outboard before I thought I would ask a few questions here.

1) I have picked up a Seloco manual for it at my local West Marine store, it looks pretty thorough, but is there a better manual out there?
2) Where is the best place to buy the parts (carb and fuel pump rebuild kits) from? I looked on iboats and they have the stuff in stock but I have never dealt with them. Is there a better place?
3) I will need to re-prop when I get her running and it looks like I have 4 options when looking at pitch for this motor. Where is a good place to start? 10" seems to mid-range, I need to check and see what she has on her now.
4) I figure I have about 3-4 weeks to get her all ready, is this a good time frame or do I need to allow more time?
5) Do I need any specialty tools (how do you get the flywheel off?), and if so where can I get them?

heres a simple start to diaging your motor

take a plug out one at a time and ground to the motor. turn the motor over. both plugs should have a nice blue spark. if not somthing is weak or bad

take 1 plug out and put your finger over the cylinder while turning the motor over. there should be a light coat of gas on your finger. if not you have a fuel related problem

this should get you heading in the general direction of what you need to replace