failing lights

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slross83

Reaction score
Well i bought a 1860 grizzly sportsman with 7 50w led seelites. port has 2, star has 2, and bow has 3. Three separate switches. All factory wiring. The problem im having is if i turn all switches on after a couple minutes all the lights will turn off and on repeatedly until i turn off one switch. Now if i turn off the bow the sides will stay good and run fine. But if i leave on the bow and one side which is 5 lights total then a few minutes later the same thing will happen. Bottom line 4 lights im fine but when that 5th turns on it goes off and on. I'm no electrician but they are ran to 2 12v batteries in parallel. This whole system is 12v. Previous owner said he didn't have the issue. I spoke to his mechanic and he said the wire size wouldn't be the problem because it ran fine for 5 years that way. So any ideas would be much appreciated. Weak failing fuse? undersized fuse somewhere? Bad batteries? Idk. Thanks for your help

I would get a voltmeter & check voltage when it is acting up, starting at the battery & then check every junction , like fuse, switch, etc. Sounds like a failing circuit breaker to me.

Might have worked when NEW but improperly sized wires (if too small) will be compromised when corrosion builds up. But also know that corrosion in the wires or on any of the connections will increase resistance, which causes heat, which trips circuit breakers.

I'd clean the heck out of everything and apply dielectric grease, with that faulty light being the 1sst target, LOL, but you should clean EVERYTHING!