Jig fishing

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I had this preached to me and preached to me when I first started fishing a jig....

If you think you are fishing it too slow, slow down some more.

I am just learning the jig myself, but one thing I have learned quickly is to vary your retrieve until you find the trigger. SOme days it needs to be dragged painfully slow. Sometimes you need to wack it into wood. Sometimes the subtil slip into the water without a ripple is what will get the bite, while other days you need to skip it in there like a maniac. I don't know why it works maybe simulating a fleeing baitfish. But some days this will get you bit when nothing else will. Bottom line, don't get into a rut.... mix and match your retrieve until you get a bite.

*Caught this guy in 3ft of water less than 5 feet from my feet.*

Attachments

• nockbass1.jpg
    nockbass1.jpg
    290.8 KB · Views: 1,137
:twisted: When "pitching" a jig let it enter the water quietly so you don't spook the shallow water bass. WOOD almost always holds fish. When the bite is slow try pitching to the same target over and over again.....they will eventually whack it!!!

Attachments

• Cedarville003-4.jpg
    Cedarville003-4.jpg
    108.9 KB · Views: 1,162
I just started using jigs this past summer and am still learning, but caught this one on a 1/4oz jig retrieving it at a moderate speed over some rocks in 2 fow: (Oh, had a small black trailer on the jig also). Gonna return to that spot next season and try a repeat [-o<

5lb 5oz:
normal_8-1-09_5lb_5oz_Audubon_Park_catch.jpg

:twisted: Heavy cover are ideal areas to Pitch or Flip a jig. Reeds, pads, brush, laydowns consistently hold fish.

Attachments

• cedarville_007_122.jpg
    cedarville_007_122.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 1,149
  • MaryElmerLake001-1.jpg
    MaryElmerLake001-1.jpg
    184.9 KB · Views: 1,149
  • GiampietroPark001-3.jpg