Live Bait Tank

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

txneal

Reaction score
I have an idea for a live bait tank, but since I've never tried to keep bait on this scale before, I'm hoping someone here might have some experience and be willing to offer suggestions. I live in a place where there is no live bait available, so if I want live bait for my trotlines, I'll have to keep them on hand myself. Here, in Texas, it is legal to use goldfish for trotline bait and I have a source for purchasing live goldfish, 3-5 inches long, that is about 150 miles from me. My plan is to go get about 300-400 goldfish and keep them to use as I need them.

For my bait tank, I intend to use my old hot tub, which holds about 500 gallons of water. I figure that I can fill it with water, condition the water properly, and then install an aerator. According to the guy I'll buy the goldfish from, this should be adequate to keep them alive for several months. However, he did tell me that the most important factor will be to make sure the water doesn't get too hot from the sun. Unfortunately, this hot tub is located in a spot where it gets full sun for most of the day. I'm thinking that I could just build a plywood/insulated lid and paint the upper surface with a reflective elastomeric paint to keep the heat out. I'm hoping someone here might have some experience with keeping baitfish like this and may have suggestions on how I might keep them cool enough in this situation.