New Battery Set Up

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jkitchene

Reaction score
I'm beginning to tear down my 1989 Tracker Pro 17 and will start a thread with my progress soon. I'm converting from a 12v to 24v trolling motor while rewiring the entire boat. My current plan is to have the 24volt system isolated to just the trolling motor while the starting battery will handle the motor and all accessories. I'm new to all of this and I'm trying to understand what battery switch (Blue Sea) I need. I want to be able use the trolling motor batteries as emergency starting batteries in the case of a dead starting battery. Otherwise I plan to leave the starting battery and trolling motor batteries isolated. I think I need part number 6011 from Blue Sea and use the combine function only in the case of a dead starting battery. Is that right battery switch for my application? How do I wire this to the trolling motor batteries as they will be in series for the trolling motor?

I'm a complete newbie so please forgive my ignorance as I will have lots of questions I'm sure. I have read through many builds on this site and it has given me the ambition to jump in and try it myself. Thanks in advance

From Blue Sea's website:

https://assets.bluesea.com/files/resources/newsletter/images/st_blade_1.jpg

It's not really intended to be used with a 12/24V system. The trick that you're going to have is that you need to put the switch between the two batteries on the 12/24V system. Take a look here:

12-24 wiring.JPG

This should ensure that you are only providing 12V to the motor when the switch is engaged. You should probably run this one by Blue Sea before building this. I don't think there should be any issue, but I've never tried it either.