Painting

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saggyman

Reaction score
Is it possible to paint over the existing paint of a jon boat, like alumnacraft if it's brand new?

I'm not a fan of the olive green color and want to change it, but don't want to sand down a new boat :) Could I clean it and possibly paint over the existing paint?

I recently used that Rust-Oleum Primer/Paint spray paint from Home Depot, covered my boat with 4 cans. Not the best looking paint job but it's holding well so far. I didn't sand anything, just went right over it. Make sure you do it outside and wear a mask, spray paint reeks real good. :p

in MY world, as a retired sign painter, I wouldn't worry about paint peeling off of a
NEW boat. I would just wash it with soap and water to remove any oil and paint it.

Now, there are as many opinions on paint as there are blow flies on a dead cat !!!
Go to your paint store (Lowe's - HD - ACE) and ask them for their opinion.
I myself personally, use the Lowe's VALSPAR 35 year house paint. $14 a quart.
In the past, I have used RustOleum brush on enamel. Some have used the
implement paint from Tractor Supply. (some stores carry only gallons - no quarts).
contrary to popular belief, painting is NOT rocket science !!!
your call

Scuff the paint, self etching primer on any bare spots or a light coat on the whole boat then top coat. I like Rustoleum.

I myself plan on doing a pressure wash, a light sanding, another pressure wash, 2 light coats of self etching primer then roll on a valspar like johnny said.... Not sure of the color yet

Lightly etch with 200 grit sandpaper. Use Self-Etching Primer on any spots that your hit bare metal.

Clean well.

Paint!

Enjoy.

CMOS