'78 Johnson 25 frustrations

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldgenetics64

Reaction score
So I changed the impeller, gaskets etc. Then had to change the leaking fuel pump to get it to start. Pumped and primed, it started almost immediately. After about 15 seconds of running nicely, no telltale. I could swear that I've got everything lined up and seated correctly.
Am I being paranoid about how long it's taking the telltale to start or do I need to tear it down again?

Thanks, before replacing the water pump, it would start flowing in 15-20 seconds. I've never worked on an outboard motor before so I thought I should double check.

I'll double check. But I doubt it. All the work has been done while the motor was still on the transom, sitting in the driveway.

I'd say it should be going within ten seconds. I had an 83 25hp Johnson and it would start almost immediately.

Check the easy stuff first. Are you running it on muffs or in a barrel? If it's in a barrel, the water level needs to be above where the water is positioned in the lower unit, usually 2-3 inches above the cavitation plate.

Also make sure the telltale nozzle and hose are clear. Mud daubers will make a home in them. If it was stopped up and the water pump is working, you should still have water exiting the exhaust ports on the midsection.

I have the same motor here, it pumps water almost right away. I just had it out and started it after a long sit.
When I first bought mine, it had sat for a number of years and both the telltale tube and the thermostat were clogged up pretty bad. The last owner used it in shallow water and the block was also full of sand. It took me an hour to get it all flushed out clean. Its been fine though for the past 25 or so years since.

Did you put the impeller key back in?
Is the thermostat new or at least clean?